The Lipton Tea story

Before Thomas Lipton, tea was a beverage only for the rich.

Sir Thomas was a Scottish-born entrepreneur who, in 1880, decided he wanted to make tea accessible to all – not just the wealthy – at acceptable prices with guaranteed quality. So he acquired tea estates in Ceylon (today Sri Lanka) and organized packaging and transportation at low cost. As Mr. Lipton himself said, he wanted to sell his teas "direct from the tea garden to the tea pot." In 1893, he established the Thomas J. Lipton Co., a tea-packing company.

Thomas Lipton was knighted by Queen Victoria in 1898, a well-deserved achievement. Thanks to Sir Thomas Lipton, Lipton® is the world's leading tea brand and is available in more than 80 countries! Tea is the second most commonly consumed beverage in the world, after water, and Canadians drink about seven billion cups of tea each year.

Lipton® Tea employs tea-tasters – all of them masters in the harvesting, production, purchase, and blending of more than 3,000 types of tea. The tea is sourced from as many as 35 countries to ensure tea-leaf integrity, quality and freshness.  Lipton® Tea is owned by Unilever, one the world's largest consumer products companies.

TOP

L'histoire du thé Lipton

Avant Thomas Lipton, le thé était une boisson réservée aux riches.

Sir Thomas Lipton était un entrepreneur écossais qui, en 1880, a décidé de rendre le thé accessible à tous (et non seulement aux plus nantis) à des prix acceptables avec une qualité de garantie. C'est ainsi qu'il a acquis des plantations de thé au Ceylan (aujourd'hui le Sri Lanka) et organisé des activités d'emballage et de transport à faible coût. Comme le disait M. Lipton, il voulait vendre ses thés « directement du jardin de thé à la théière ». En 1893, il a établi la Thomas J. Lipton Co., une société d'emballage des thés.

Thomas Lipton a été fait chevalier par la Reine  Victoria en 1898, un accomplissement bien mérité. Grâce à Sir Thomas Lipton, Lipton® est l'un des chefs de file des marques de thé dans le monde et ses produits sont distribués dans plus de 80 pays! Après l’eau, le thé est la deuxième boisson la plus consommée à l’échelle mondiale. Les Canadiens en consomment environ sept milliards de tasses par an.

Les thés Lipton® emploient des dégustateurs de thé, qui sont tous des experts au niveau de la récolte, de la production, des achats et du mélange de plus de 3 000 types de thé, qui proviennent d'autant que 35 pays pour assurer l'intégrité, la qualité et la fraîcheur des feuilles de thé. Le Thé Lipton® est détenu par Unilever, une des entreprises de biens de consommation la plus importante au monde.

TOP